A Wander

I lost my way today.

I prowled the aisles seeking neither comfort nor nutrition.

The harsh light reflected off the heated glass, the avian carcasses slowly turning for the adulation of the masses.

The thunder of the cars passing by outside could just be heard above the clattering of feet and the chattering of the masses.

I thought that every aisle looked the same, the same vacant stares and the same senseless hands caressing the same old produce.  I felt a faint tremor, a flutter in my belly, as I walked slowly up the main arterial corridor.

I caught myself.  Was I so cast adrift in my own thoughts and feelings that I could not at least emphasise with these people?

Further up the store, mid section in fact, I saw a crowd gather.  The closer I got the thicker it became.  A single cry went up and quickly another individual answered in reply and then yet more answered in turn.

I distinguished the quick flick of silver amongst the dour greys and greens of winter jackets.

Then I saw it.  The recently much oxidised blood contrasted greatly to the clean glisten of the tiled floor and the harsh white light.  A single man had taken to slicing his body open in protestation of life itself.  Aiming only for his lower body he scythed at himself and writhed in reply.

Some of the shoppers stopped and tried to help the man, others passed with barely a flicker of their eyes in his direction and yet still more continued on with their shopping, determined not to become a part of this sad sorry scene.

The pools of blood that littered the shop floor snaked from the middle to the exit in irregular lakes, each one representing an individual pump of his heart.  The police had apprehended him, calmed him down and led his outside without further incident.

The bloody prints became sectioned off although at least one shopper had absent-mindedly wheeled her cart into the blood and left a trail from one aisle to the next.

I stood rooted to the spot.  My legs became iron pillars and a small tear formed at the edge of my right eye as I looked at the trail that the man had left behind.

I walked out of the store, neglecting to purchase the item what I had evidently thought I needed.

CNV00072

Photograph taken by the author with a Pentax S1a camera, please credit and use CC if reproduced elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

