Sad Statue of Liberty

“I know he can be an idiot, a bit of a prick certainly, but doesn’t he deserve to be left alone, not to die a lonely death.  Come on, you know that surely?”

“I wish I could say that I did Veronica but you know as well as I do how I feel about him and what we have to do, he’s a waste of space, a moron who never learns or does anything useful, ever!  I’m not going to forget how he treated you either, he needs to die.”

“Mmm, you are too harsh at times you know, I wish I could just lean right in and that shut that big fat mouth of yours.”

“Well go ahead, I ain’t going to stop you!”

Veronica’s lips clashed against his in a sudden embrace as two breathing patterns quickly became one.  A hand caressed an open shirt and her eyes quickly darted towards the open door of the bedroom in a long lingering look.

“No wait, I’ve got to go, I need to sort this shit out, you know it has to be done today.”

“Oh come on, does it have to be decided right now?  Can’t we just take some time to explore each first before we decide his fucking fate?”

“No, you knew what the plan was before I came over here, we have to stick to it if we want to make a clean clear cut. Mmm come on now, stop it, stop touching me hun.”

“Hmm you weren’t saying that last week!”

“Seriously Veronica, I have to go…”

The coconut trees were gently swaying in the light breeze as the light was starting to fade against the white washed walls of the flat when he returned, empty handed but victorious, a small smile playing upon his lips.

“Come here, it’s done, he won’t be bothering you anymore.”

“Did he… I mean did he put up much of a fight, or was he ready?”

“It doesn’t matter, it’s done, let’s just get the bags packed and forget him, okay?”

“Okay, you know I love you” she whispered into his ear, draping her tanned arm across his torso.

“I know, I love you too” he replied, the faint tang of gunpowder hung in the air around his head, a halo of profanity.

CNV00021

Photograph by author, Pentax s1a b&w film.

Leave a Reply

