BRB

I won’t be posting here for a while as I’ve got to have some hospital surgery carried out, I head in tomorrow for blood tests and X-rays before the surgery on Wednesday.  However I have picked my reading wisely for the time I shall be bed bound, so here is a quick list of what I’m taking with me*:

  • Fracture: Adventures of  a Broken Body by Ann Oakley (a re-read).
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy.
  • The Foundation Pit by Andrey Platonov (a re-read).
  • Notes from the Underground and The Double by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.
  • The Human Bone Manual by Tim White and Pieter Folkens.
  • Disability in Medieval History by Irina Metzler (if I can!).

I can’t help but feel I am missing a good travelogue or another novel I can get my teeth in, but The Road and Notes from the Underground are two books I have been meaning to read for quite some time.  Although the reading list does look decided depressing, I shall relish the hours lying down in bed adsorbed in the comfort of a good writer and lost in a world that they have created.  It is perhaps no surprise to see that at least two Russian authors have made the list, but with a new Stephen King novel out I may be doing some asking for that as a cheeky gift!   I have included a few re-reads in the list above, but we shall see if I get those read again.

I shall need to call upon my stoical strength again, but I look forward to writing back here once I am well enough.  Photography by author, taken with a Pentax S1a camera.

I shall need to call upon my stoical strength again, but I look forward to writing back here once I am well enough. Photography by author, taken with a Pentax S1a camera.

* I’ll also be taking a stack of CD’s with me because I am doggedly old fashioned, and, of course, a stack of paper to write letters to friends and to keep notes.

Leave a Reply

