Battered and Bruised

The ‘Human Bone Manual’ is my battered and bruised bible.  It is covered in dried mud as I consulted it in the field, pages are crinkled as I sprinkled water on it whilst referencing its pages as I cleaned skeletal material, and the spine is slightly damaged from numerous journeys in my backpack.  It is much like its owner, worn and jaded but hopefully well loved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I relied heavily on the manual during the Masters year when we studied skeletal anatomy in-depth.   It became an extension of myself, forever in reach and ready to reference at a moment’s notice.  Having come across it again during the cleaning out of excess DVD’s and of the books read a thousand times, ready for the charity shop or exchange parlour, I sadly noticed how fast the information can leak from an overloaded brain when I flicked through the manual’s pages.  The terminology that had laid forgotten slowly sprang back to life, as I remembered the hours spent in the lab identifying numerous features, the hours passing as mere minutes whilst the day slowly turned into night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One day I’ll make a wage from my knowledge.  In the mean time it shall remain a love and a passion.

Leave a Reply

