Disgust

A lot of the time I am proud of the country that I was born in, but sometimes it frankly disgusts me.  No doubt you too have this feeling sometimes about your own countries.  For me, the following three links highlight something that is fundamentally wrong with the governing forces in my country, and actually make me worry for the future.

Please make the people responsible for the economic crisis pay, if they can be found to be held accountable.  Don’t force short sighted plans and cuts onto my beautiful country, and don’t target the young, disabled, or poor, as the ruling classes so often and ruthlessly do.

I am acutely aware of the broad range of crises in other countries, and that in context, my worries are largely superficial.  I do believe that in the next decade or so we will face possible drastic changes in the world, certainly in Europe and the Middle East, that will continue to impact the shape and structure of societies, and of countries, for a long time to come.  However, we can, as individual citizens of various countries, air our own thoughts and help bring our protests and views to the top of the food chain.  This year has seen radical change, and the effect of people power throughout the globe.

A few sites of interest are the following-

  • Avaaz are a worldwide community of activists that help to bring people-powered politics with petitions and various support projects around the world.
  • Wikileaks is a whistling blowing website and not-for-profit media organisation that deals with both companies and governments across the world.
3 thoughts on “Disgust

    • hey Quackecho,
      Thank you for your comment- much appreciated. As you can probably see the blog is quite diverse but I do think it is important to try to understand the government issues and to help raise our voices in unison about how angry we are. Your site looks pretty good, well done 🙂 I’d read Private Eye, if you don’t already as it highlights a lot of the problems in the media and government (central and local). It really is an eye opening magazine. Thank you, and I shall continue to read your blog.

Leave a Reply

