Rockets Rise and Rockets Fall

The sky was always a deep azure blue when I looked up, out of the window, and saw the supposed space rockets escaping gravity’s clutch, leaving behind their whispy vapour trails.  I had seen them earlier on TV, blasting off from the Florida swamps and making their way to space.  It would be fair to say I internalised the crushing feeling I felt when I found out that the rockets I had watched nearly every other day were in fact aeroplanes, earth bound and taking passengers to destinations such as Tenerife or Crete, and not to the barren surface of the moon or the white capsuled ISS that orbits earth.

Leave a Reply

