‘High Hopes’

High Hopes is a Pink Floyd number from their last studio album, The Division Bell, which was released in 1994.  The song is very beautiful and melodic, especially when heard performed live (check the youtube videos, and particularly this one).  The soaring slide guitar and the evocative singing/lyrics are introduced by the ringing of the bell itself, and the chord progression is darkly seducing.  I shall have to have a look at the guitar chords myself when I get time.  The multi-instrumentalist David Gilmour’s guitar playing is fascinating, and infuses life into the normal minor pentatonic cliches so prevalent in mainstream rock guitar, often giving his guitar solo’s a melodious meld of bluesy flurries with a space rock, loose vibe.  A fantastic interview on his guitar playing approach and choices of musical equipment can be found here.

Incidentally, the video of the live Pulse concert certainly helped me focus my mind and enabled me to write my thesis for my Masters dissertation.  The 1994 Pulse concert, from Earls Court  in London, lasts for a staggering 2 hours and 24 minutes.  High Hopes comes on at around 19 minutes in on the video, but it is worth watching the whole concert, especially the frankly epic conclusion.  Although it sounds pretty good through my laptop speakers back at home, nothing can quite evoke the many late night hours spent at the University library listening to this concert on a constant loop, with my ear phones plugged in and the volume turned up loud, helping make sense of the isotopic data for the thesis.  Hope you enjoy this song as much as I have…

Leave a Reply

